The Suicide Squad – Official Red Band Trailer

The Suicide Squad – Official Red Band Trailer

The Suicide Squad is an upcoming American superhero film based on the DC Comics team Suicide Squad. Produced by DC Films, Atlas Entertainment, and The Safran Company, and set for distribution by Warner Bros. Pictures, it is a standalone sequel to Suicide Squad (2016) and the tenth film in the DC Extended Universe (DCEU). Written and directed by James Gunn, the film stars an ensemble cast including Margot Robbie, Idris Elba, John Cena, Joel Kinnaman, Jai Courtney, Peter Capaldi, David Dastmalchian, Daniela Melchior, Michael Rooker, Alice Braga, Pete Davidson, Nathan Fillion, Sean Gunn, Flula Borg, Mayling Ng, Sylvester Stallone, and Viola Davis. In the film, the Suicide Squad is sent to destroy a Nazi-era prison and laboratory.

Development began before the first film’s release in 2016, with director David Ayer set to return. However, Ayer left after he chose to develop a Gotham City Sirens film instead. Warner Bros. considered several replacement directors before hiring Gavin O’Connor in September 2017, but he left a year later. Gunn was then hired to write and direct after he was temporarily fired by Disney and Marvel Studios as the director of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (2023). Gunn looked to the 1980s Suicide Squad comics and war films for inspiration. As a standalone sequel, The Suicide Squad includes some returning cast members but tells a new story separate from the first film’s narrative. Filming began in Atlanta, Georgia, in September 2019, and concluded in Panama in February 2020.

The Suicide Squad is scheduled to be released theatrically and on the streaming platform HBO Max in the United States on August 6, 2021. Peacemaker, a spin-off television series starring Cena, is set to debut on HBO Max in January 2022.

VFX Done by Framestore, // Weta Digital, // Trixter, // Scanline VFX, // Cantina Creative

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *