HPA Awards – Hollywood Professional Association  Awards Nominees

HPA Awards – Hollywood Professional Association Awards Nominees

The HPA Awards are considered the standard-bearer for excellence and innovation in an industry embracing an expanding array of groundbreaking technologies and creativity. Bestowed at a gala celebration each November, the Awards honor creative achievement, outstanding artistry, lifetime achievement, and engineering excellence.

Awards Given

Creative Categories include Color Grading, Editing, Sound and Visual Effects in Film, Television and Commercials. Special Awards may also be presented, including Engineering Excellence, the HPA Judges Award for Creativity & Innovation, Charles S. Swartz Award, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

About the Trophy

The HPA Award symbolizes freedom of expression, mastery of an artist’s craft, and groundbreaking creative and technological achievement. The award trophy, designed by the superlative design team at Autodesk, physically embodies these qualities, portraying the limitless possibilities of imagination, collaboration and technical ingenuity that break out of constraints to realize today’s most challenging visions.

The complete list of nominees follows:

Outstanding Color Grading – Theatrical Feature

First Man – Natasha Leonnet // EFILM

Roma – Steven J. Scott // Technicolor 

Green Book – Walter Volpatto // FotoKem

The Nutcracker and the Four Realms – Tom Poole // Company 3

Us – Michael Hatzer // Technicolor

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – Natasha Leonnet // EFILM 

Outstanding Color Grading – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature

The Handmaid’s Tale – “Liars” – Bill Ferwerda // Deluxe Toronto

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “Vote for Kennedy, Vote for Kennedy” – Steven Bodner // Light Iron

Game of Thrones – “Winterfell” – Joe Finley // Sim, Los Angeles

I am the Night – “Pilot” – Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Gotham – “Legend of the Dark Knight: The Trial of Jim Gordon” – Paul Westerbeck // Picture Shop

The Man in the High Castle – “Jahr Null” – Roy Vasich // Technicolor                        

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial   

Zara – “Woman Campaign Spring Summer 2019” – Tim Masick // Company 3

Tiffany & Co. – “Believe in Dreams: A Tiffany Holiday” – James Tillett // Moving Picture Company

Hennessy X.O. – “The Seven Worlds” – Stephen Nakamura // Company 3

Palms Casino – “Unstatus Quo” – Ricky Gausis // Moving Picture Company

Audi – “Cashew” – Tom Poole // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Theatrical Feature

Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood – Fred Raskin, ACE

Green Book – Patrick J. Don Vito, ACE

Rolling Thunder Revue: A Bob Dylan Story by Martin Scorsese – David Tedeschi, Damian Rodriguez

The Other Side of the Wind – Orson Welles, Bob Murawski, ACE

A Star Is Born – Jay Cassidy, ACE

Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (30 Minutes and Under)

Russian Doll – “The Way Out” – Todd Downing

Homecoming – “Redwood” – Rosanne Tan, ACE

VEEP – “Pledge” – Roger Nygard, ACE

Withorwithout – Jake Shaver, Shannon Albrink // Therapy Studios

Russian Doll – “Ariadne” – Laura Weinberg

Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (Over 30 Minutes)

Stranger Things – “Chapter Eight: The Battle of Starcourt” – Dean Zimmerman, ACE, Katheryn Naranjo

Chernobyl – “Vichnaya Pamyat” – Simon Smith, Jinx Godfrey // Sister Pictures

Game of Thrones – “The Iron Throne” – Katie Weiland, ACE

Game of Thrones – “The Long Night” – Tim Porter, ACE 

The Bodyguard – “Episode One” – Steve Singleton

Outstanding Sound – Theatrical Feature

Godzilla: King of Monsters – Tim LeBlanc, Tom Ozanich, MPSE // Warner Bros.; Erik Aadahl, MPSE, Nancy Nugent, MPSE, Jason W. Jennings // E Squared

Shazam! – Michael Keller, Kevin O’Connell // Warner Bros.; Bill R. Dean, MPSE, Erick Ocampo, Kelly Oxford, MPSE // Technicolor

Smallfoot – Michael Babcock, David E. Fluhr, CAS, Jeff Sawyer, Chris Diebold, Harrison Meyle // Warner Bros.

Roma – Skip Lievsay, Sergio Diaz, Craig Henighan, Carlos Honc, Ruy Garcia, MPSE, Caleb Townsend 

Aquaman – Tim LeBlanc // Warner Bros.; Peter Brown, Joe Dzuban, Stephen P. Robinson, MPSE, Eliot Connors, MPSE // Formosa Group

Outstanding Sound – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature 

Chernobyl – “1:23:45” – Stefan Henrix, Stuart Hilliker, Joe Beal, Michael Maroussas, Harry Barnes // Boom Post

Deadwood: The Movie – John W. Cook II, Bill Freesh, Mandell Winter, MPSE, Daniel Coleman, MPSE, Ben Cook, MPSE, Micha Liberman // NBC Universal 

Game of Thrones – “The Bells” – Tim Kimmel, MPSE, Onnalee Blank, CAS, Mathew Waters, CAS, Paula Fairfield, David Klotz  

The Haunting of Hill House – “Two Storms” – Trevor Gates, MPSE, Jason Dotts, Jonathan Wales, Paul Knox, Walter Spencer // Formosa Group

Homecoming – “Protocol” – John W. Cook II, Bill Freesh, Kevin Buchholz, Jeff A. Pitts, Ben Zales, Polly McKinnon // NBC Universal 

Outstanding Sound – Commercial  

John Lewis & Partners – “Bohemian Rhapsody” – Mark Hills, Anthony Moore // Factory

Audi – “Life” – Doobie White // Therapy Studios 

Leonard Cheshire Disability – “Together Unstoppable” – Mark Hills // Factory 

New York Times – “The Truth Is Worth It: Fearlessness” – Aaron Reynolds // Wave Studios NY

John Lewis & Partners – “The Boy and the Piano” – Anthony Moore // Factory 

Outstanding Visual Effects – Theatrical Feature

Avengers: Endgame – Matt Aitken, Marvyn Young, Sidney Kombo-Kintombo, Sean Walker, David Conley // Weta Digital

Spider-Man: Far From Home – Alexis Wajsbrot, Sylvain Degrotte, Nathan McConnel, Stephen Kennedy, Jonathan Opgenhaffen // Framestore

The Lion King – Robert Legato; Andrew R. Jones; Adam Valdez, Elliot Newman, Audrey Ferrara // MPC Film; Tom Peitzman // T&C Productions

Alita: Battle Angel – Eric Saindon, Michael Cozens, Dejan Momcilovic, Mark Haenga, Kevin Sherwood // Weta Digital

Pokemon Detective Pikachu – Jonathan Fawkner, Carlos Monzon, Gavin Mckenzie, Fabio Zangla, Dale Newton // Framestore

Outstanding Visual Effects – Episodic (Under 13 Episodes) or Non-theatrical Feature

Game of Thrones – “The Long Night” – Martin Hill, Nicky Muir, Mike Perry, Mark Richardson, Darren Christie // Weta Digital

The Umbrella Academy – “The White Violin” – Everett Burrell, Misato Shinohara, Chris White, Jeff Campbell, Sebastien Bergeron

The Man in the High Castle – “Jahr Null”  – Lawson Deming, Cory Jamieson, Casi Blume, Nick Chamberlain, William Parker, Saber Jlassi, Chris Parks // Barnstorm VFX

Chernobyl – “1:23:45” – Lindsay McFarlane, Max Dennison, Clare Cheetham, Steven Godfrey, Luke Letkey // DNEG 

Game of Thrones – “The Bells” – Steve Kullback, Joe Bauer, Ted Rae; Mohsen Mousavi // Scanline; Thomas Schelesny // Image Engine

Outstanding Visual Effects – Episodic (Over 13 Episodes)

Hawaii Five-O – “Ke iho mai nei ko luna” – Thomas Connors, Anthony Davis, Chad Schott, Gary Lopez, Adam Avitabile // Picture Shop

9-1-1 – “7.1” – Jon Massey, Tony Pirzadeh, Brigitte Bourque, Gavin Whelan, Kwon Choi // FuseFX

Star Trek: Discovery – “Such Sweet Sorrow Part 2” – Jason Zimmerman, Ante Dekovic, Aleksandra Kochoska, Charles Collyer, Alexander Wood // CBS Television Studios 

The Flash – “King Shark vs. Gorilla Grodd” – Armen V. Kevorkian, Joshua Spivack, Andranik Taranyan, Shirak Agresta, Jason Shulman // Encore VFX

The Orville – “Identity: Part II” – Tommy Tran, Kevin Lingenfelser, Joseph Vincent Pike // FuseFX, Brandon Fayette, Brooke Noska // Twentieth Century FOX TV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *